Evaluation of Something Beautiful Recording (Rec Tec 1 Assignment)

BAND MEMBERS

Aisha Pin- Songwriter/Vocals

Francesca Urbano- Songwriter/Vocals/Piano

Cris Moraru- Bass/Guitar

David Jones- Drums

Anthony Abiola- Backing Vocals

 

 

This was a piano and vocal based song originally.

We started off recording the drums using the Glyn Johns Technique and we then went onto recording the piano using the Decca Tree mic setup.

Once we had this down, we then went onto recording the bass guitar, where we used 2 DPA mics so that we could record it in A-B. The guitar parts was then recorded using 2 Neumann TLMs.

The vocals were the last thing to be recorded, we used AKG 414s for this; Tony and I recorded our vocals in the vocal booth separately, whereas Frankie recorded her’s in the chill room.

I mixed the tracks using Logic Pro 9 and this took approximately 18 hours over the span of 3 days.

I added eq and stereo spread on all the instruments, however more time was taken on the drums because I had to edit it in a way that made it sound abit more in time.

Afterwards, whilst mixing, I felt  that we should have recorded Frankie’s vox in the vocal room. I added speech enhancers and mic correction on her track as well as compression however I had to use compression on my track to so that both of vocals were not clipping.

I feel that if we had an extra 2 hours in the studio we may have been able to record using different mic techniques, just so that the overall sound of song would have a bit more dynamic.

Leave a comment